ACT Academy Cyber Charter School (ACT) recognizes that good attendance is essential if students
are to achieve and reach their potential. In order for a student’s legal attendance to be counted,
he/she MUST log into actacademy.click and/or Acellus each day that school is in session and complete at least 1-course
assignments. If you skip logging into either actacademy.click and/or Acellus, it is the equivalent of skipping or arriving late to
homeroom at a brick and mortar school (B&M) and not checking in with the office before heading off to class.
If you miss these important steps in a B&M, you are marked absent for the day, and it is the same
here at ACT. It is the responsibility of the parents of students of ACT to provide an excuse when
their child is absent from school. If a student is absent without an excuse, the student could be
considered truant. Pennsylvania’s School Law requires all schools both brick/mortar and cyber to
report instances of truancy to the student’s school district of residence.
It is ACT’s goal that our students increase their individual responsibility for their academic
achievement with the support of both ACT, their parent/guardian and the meaningful adults in their
lives. However, the responsibility for ensuring attendance continues to lie with the parent/guardian of the student.
An absence may be excused when it is demonstrated that the purpose of the absence is to take
advantage of a valid educational opportunity. Approval for such an absence must be granted
two weeks prior to the absence in accordance with the Student Educational Leave of Absence Policy.
Section 13-1301 of the Public School Code establishes the right for students in Pennsylvania to
attend school. Students between the ages of 6 and 21 years who are residents of any school district
and are of “school age” are entitled to a public education. Furthermore, “compulsory school age” is
defined in Section 13-1326 of the Public School Code as “…the period of a child’s life from the
time the child’s parents elect to have the child enter school, which shall not be later than the age of
eight (8) years, until the age of seventeen (17) years or graduation from an accredited high school”.
Required Instructional Hours
State mandated 180 school days, 990 hours
5.5 hours of instruction daily for grade 9th through 12th
Note that these are the minimum hours required by the state and that students are responsible for mastering all material, which may require additional time.